top of page

THE SEARCH FOR REAL HIP-HOP 2016

For those who think real hip-hop is extinct, look again. I keep an ear out for it every year. I try to listen to every album, mix-tape, or single as I possibly can all year-round and most of what I come across I'll never listen to again. But I was surprised to find that 2016 left us with more hip-hop worthy releases than in previous years. Here are our top ten picks (in no particular order) for 2016. Check them out if you haven't already and share your opinions with us.

1. The Season/Carry Me by Anderson Paak. 2. We The People by A Tribe Called Quest 3. Royalty Capes by De La Soul 4. Pain by De La Soul 5. Stop Playing by Statik kxing 6. Shine by Royce da 5'9 7. Plane Gang by Reks 8. Surrounded by Reks 9. Young, Black, Intelligent by Masta Ace 10. Its Cold by Homeboy Sandman


bottom of page